## **EXMOUTH TOWN COUNCIL**

## Minutes of the Extraordinary Full Council Meeting held in the Council Chamber, Exmouth Town Hall, St. Andrews Road, Exmouth on Tuesday 4 July, 2023 at 6.30pm.

Present:

### Councillors

- O Davey (Chairman) A Bailey B Bailey F Caygill M Chapman G Deasy T Dumper S Gazzard M Hall
- C Nicholas David Poor M Rosser P Stott A Toye J Whibley M Williamson D Wilson A Woodward

#### Officers:

Lisa Bowman, Town Clerk Chetna Jones, Deputy Town Clerk

#### **Apologies:**

Apologies were noted from Councillors A Boatwright, J Whipps and Alex Sadiq

The Chairman then welcomed all to the meeting.

Public Forum:	Diane Conduit
	Jodie Wilkerson
	Louise Venables
	Susan Mendham

A member of the press was also in attendance.

#### C23/148. Council meeting minutes

Councillor Joe Whibley proposed, Councillor Steve Gazzard seconded, and it was agreed by all that the minutes of the previous meeting be accepted as a true record.

#### C23/149. Matters arising from previous minutes.

There were no matters arising.

#### C23/150. Declarations of pecuniary interests and dispensations

Councillor O Davey informed the Council that one of the candidates was known to him on a personal level.

#### C23/151. Exclusion of the Press and public

There were no items on the agenda which necessitated the exclusion of the press or public and would be considered in Part ii of the meeting.

# C23/152. To receive written applications for the office of Town Councillor and to Co-opt a candidate to fill the existing vacancy

Written applications from seven prospective candidates which were previously circulated were received and noted.

It was also noted that three of the seven candidates had sent apologies as they were unable to attend the meeting.

The other four candidates were present and were invited to speak after which the chairman invited questions.

The Town Clerk explained the process of voting and the need for the successful candidate to obtain a majority of votes. A candidate receiving nine votes or more will be chosen to fill the vacancy.

Councillor Brian Bailey proposed, seconded by Councillor Maddy Chapman to nominate Diane Conduit.

Councillor Joe Whibley proposed, seconded by Councillor Steve Gazzard to nominate Jodie Wilkerson.

Councillor Fred Caygill proposed, seconded by Councillor Graham Deasy to nominate Louise Venables.

Councillor Pauline Stott proposed, seconded by Councillor Andrew Toye to nominate Susan Mendham.

There were no other nominations. The Deputy Clerk asked each councillor to cast their vote for one of the four nominations above.

There was no clear majority and as Susan Mendham received the least votes she was eliminated from the list of nominations. The Deputy Clerk asked each councillor to cast their vote for one of the three remaining nominations.

Again there was no clear majority and as Diane Conduit received the least votes she was eliminated from the list of nominations. The Deputy Clerk asked each councillor to cast their vote for one of the two remaining nominations.

Louise Venables received the majority of votes and was duly co-opted as councillor for Town Ward.

The meeting concluded at 8.10 pm.

Signed......(Chairman)